NTG recognises CDU nursing academic in awards 


Health Minister Kon Vatskalis presents Ted Murphy with his award at Parliament House

A Charles Darwin University nursing academic has won the professional nurse award at this year’s NT Nursing Awards held recently at Parliament House, as part of International Nursing Day celebrations.

Head of the Graduate School for Health Practice (GSHP) Professor Sandra Dunn said Ted Murphy won the professional category for nurses and midwives involved in education and/or research.

“Ted was nominated by a member of the community in recognition of his work with internationally qualified nurses in the CDU bridging program,” Professor Dunn said.

“Nominations from the community are not very common and demonstrate excellence that is having a clear impact on the wider community.”

Mr Murphy coordinates the Bridging Program for Internationally Qualified Nurses and delivers training to internationally qualified nurses from India who are transitioning to jobs as registered nurses in Australia.

He said the bridging program offered nurses who had qualified overseas the opportunity to enhance and broaden their nursing skills.

“The aim of the program is to provide nurses with the necessary knowledge and skill to enable them to practise competently, safely and effectively in Australian health care settings and to enable graduates to gain recognition with the Nursing and Midwifery Board of the Northern Territory.

“I think it a privilege to be allowed to practise nursing. In the Northern Territory the potential to contribute to real change in individual health outcomes is enormous and quality nursing practice is the key to this change,” Mr Murphy said.

The Department of Health and Families hosts the annual NT Nursing and Midwifery Awards to recognise the individual achievements and contributions that nurses and midwives make to the health sector.

Clients, patients, family members and colleagues this year made 124 nominations for 86 nurses and midwives across 12 categories. Each category winner received $500 and a framed certificate from the Northern Territory Government.