2011 Northern Territory Literary Awards 


The Northern Territory Library congratulates this year’s finalists for the 2011 Northern Territory Literary Awards.

The Territory’s best poems, short stories, scripts, essays and screenplays received from across Central Australia, Tennant Creek, Katherine and Darwin have been judged from a record field of over 300 entries.

The 2011 finalists are:

Dymocks Arafura Short Story Award
Barbara Eather
Blair McFarland
Stephen Francis
Bronwyn Mehan
Melinda Barlow
Michael Giacometti
Natalie Sprite
Sophie Constable

Dymocks Red Earth Poetry Award
Karina Brabham
Jennifer Mills
Bronwyn Mehan
Penny Drysdale
Kathleen Epelde
Kaye Aldenhoven (x2)

Dymocks Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Writers’ Award:
Nicole Gardiner
John Bodey
Joey Flynn

Charles Darwin University Bookshop Travel Short Story Award:
Christine Wilson
Michael Giacometti
Miranda Tetlow

Charles Darwin University Essay Award:
Adelle Barry (x2)
Jane Leonard
Kate Smith

Kath Manzie Youth Literary Award:
Stevie Cosentino
Kierra-Jay Power (x4)
Sophie Philip
Shannon Nendick
Laila Bennett

Darwin Festival Script Award:
Jane Leonard
Alex Ben-Mayor

Birch Carroll and Coyle Screenwriting Award:
Cameron Raynes
Philip Denson
Eleanor Hogan

The winners of the 2011 Northern Territory Literary Awards will be announced on May 12 at a ceremony held at Parliament House.