CDU expands work in carbon capture and storage 

CDU Vice-Chancellor, Professor Barney Glover said the university's involvement in CO2CRC would enhance its capabilities in key technology areas of carbon capture and storage.

Charles Darwin University is joining one of the world’s leading research organisations that specialises in developing technologies for carbon dioxide capture and geological storage.

The Vice-Chancellor of CDU, Professor Barney Glover, said the university had been welcomed as a “supporting participant” by the Cooperative Research Centre for Greenhouse Gas Technologies (CO2CRC).

“CO2CRC has great expertise in CO2 capture and storage, which we will have access to and contribute to as part of our agreement.

“CDU’s participation will provide CO2CRC with a research node in an increasingly important part of Australia in terms of energy production,” Professor Glover said.

He said that, in turn, CDU’s involvement would enhance its capabilities in key technology areas of carbon capture and storage.

“This is an important development for the Northern Territory, which has a rapidly developing oil and gas industry on its doorstep.”

Chief Executive of CO2CRC Dr Peter Cook said he agreed that CDU fitted well with CO2CRC. “Darwin is an increasingly important energy hub for Australia, which makes CDU a key part of the collaborative effort to reduce our carbon emissions,” Dr Cook said.

CO2CRC is a joint venture comprising participants from Australian and global industry, universities and other research bodies from Australia and New Zealand, and Australian Commonwealth, State and international government agencies.

“CDU’s involvement in the CRC’s research program will support and substantially accelerate the development of carbon capture and storage, one of a portfolio of technologies essential to reduce global greenhouse gas emissions,” Professor Glover said.

CDU also had the capacity to develop new methods for CO2 capture, which were of interest to CO2CRC.

Organisations providing research to CO2CRC are: Geoscience Australia, CSIRO, Curtin University, Monash University, GNS Science (New Zealand), University of Adelaide, University of Melbourne, University of NSW and the University of Western Australia.