Literary Awards recognise Territory talent 


The winners of the 2010 Charles Darwin University (CDU) Essay Award and Bookshop Travel Short Story Award have been announced.

The awards are part of the annual Northern Territory Literary Awards, which help to encourage and reward Territory writers of varying ages and backgrounds, from the novice to experienced authors.

Glen Morrison and his essay “Two Towns called Alice Springs” won the CDU essay award with Bruce Hocking, Jane Leonard and Michael Giacometti also finalists in the award category.

Kathleen Epelde took top honors in the CDU Bookshop Travel Short Story Award category with her story entitled “Learning to Read”. Barbara Eather, Kate Shannon and Elizabeth Hutchins were among the finalists.

The winners were announced during a recent ceremony at Parliament House.