2010 Chief Minister's Study Scholarships for Women 


Three outstanding Northern Territory women have won this year's Chief Minister's Study Scholarships for Women valued at over $20,000.

Women's Policy Minister, Malarndirri McCarthy today congratulated the three winners who will receive their scholarships at tonight's Graduation Ceremony at Charles Darwin University.

"It gives me great pleasure to announce that this year's winners are Ms Michaela O'Shea, Ms Lisa Rex and Ms Carine Kapiamba-Tshimbu," said Ms McCarthy.

"Ms O'Shea has won the Higher Education Scholarship to the value of $15,000 and a laptop of $1,200 which she plans to use to study for a Bachelor of Teaching and Learning at Charles Darwin University.

"The two Vocational Education and Training Scholarships of $2,000 each have been won Ms Rex and Ms Kapiamba-Tshimbu.

"Ms Rex is from Tennant Creek and will use her scholarship to continue her VET studies in Conservation Land Management at Batchelor Institute of Indigenous Tertiary Education.

Ms Kapiamba-Tshimbu will use her scholarship to pursue studies in Business.

"This Study Scholarship aims to encourage women to undertake education and training to enhance their employment, general life outcomes and ultimately to improve women's economic security.

"Over the past nine years Scholarship winners have demonstrated a strong involvement in their communities, with a clear vision for using their qualifications for the benefit of the community.

"I wish them every success in their studies."

The Chief Minister's Study Scholarship for Women (formerly the Chief Minister's Study Award) was introduced in 2001.  It is administered by Charles Darwin University.