The Scopus Young Researcher Awards 


The Australian researchers are well known internationally for their achievements and dedicated contributions to various fields of research. To honour these achievements, Universities Australia and Elsevier are proud to bring you the Scopus Young Researcher of the Year Awards for 2010.

The Awards for 2010 will be presented in the following categories:

1. Humanities and Social Sciences
2. Physical Sciences
3. Engineering and Technology
4. Life Sciences and Biological Sciences
5. Medicine and Medical Sciences

Eligibility Criteria
Age:  40 years of age or less as of 1st July 2009
Nationality: Australian Citizen or Permanent Resident
Employment status: Employee of an Australian university who:
•   is currently engaged in research activities that fall under one of the Award categories
•  is employed on a 0.5 or above contract and not a full-time research student, although may be concurrently pursuing higher degree by research qualifications
•     is published in peer-reviewed literature and/or has an accepted patent/s

Evaluation Criteria 
1. Research impact - taking into account the average number of citations per paper and H-index (derived from Scopus, using Scopus data from 1996 onwards)
2. Research output - taking into account the average number of publications and patents per year (derived from Scopus, using Scopus data from 1996 onwards)
3. External Impact
4. Esteem Contribution

Note: The application of Evaluation Criteria 1 and 2 will vary depending on the award category and academic discipline.

Application closes Sunday, 10 January 2010, 12 Midnight, Australian Eastern Daylight Savings Time.

For more information visit