NICTA welcomes CDU Vice-Chancellor to its board 

Vice-Chancellor, Professor Barney Glover

Charles Darwin University’s Vice-Chancellor, Professor Barney Glover has been appointed to the Board of NICTA, Australia’s Information and Communications Technology (ICT) Research Centre of Excellence.

NICTA is committed to developing technologies that will meet the current and future needs of the community in fields which will lead to large economic, social and environmental benefits for Australia.

Professor Glover, along with former New South Wales Senator, George Campbell were welcomed at NICTA’s Annual General Meeting last week.

Previously the Deputy Vice-Chancellor at the University of Newcastle, Professor Glover has held several positions at Curtin University of Technology and the University of Ballarat. He was involved in the establishment of the WA Telecommunications Research Institute and the Institute for Multisensor Processing and Content Analysis.

Professor Glover has significant business leadership credentials through membership on the Boards of a range of corporate organisations and several state and national centres covering areas such as health and medical research, energy, mineral exploration and processing and telecommunications.

He has a strong research publications record and has co-authored four texts in mathematics education.

Mr George Campbell served as a NSW Senator from 1997-2008.

He was a member of the Economic Planning and Advisory Council from 1991-1994 and a member of the Telecommunications Industry Development Board 1991-1996. Parliamentary positions included Parliamentary Secretary to the Shadow Minister for Innovation, Industry, Trade and Tourism (2001-2003) and to the Shadow Minister for Industry, Innovation, Science and Research (2003-2004).

NICTA’s Board also farewelled three members, Professor Paul Greenfield, Dr Michael Sargent and Professor David Karpin.

NICTA Chairman Mr Neville Stevens AO thanked the retiring Board members for their contribution to NICTA.

“The experience and advice these people have shared with NICTA has been invaluable,” he said.

Professor Glover and Mr Campbell join the eight existing members of the NICTA Board: Mr Neville Stevens AO (Chair), Dr David Skellern (CEO), Professor Michael Brooks, Ms Jennifer Clark, Emeritus Professor Graham Hellestrand, Mr Loftus Harris, Dr Chris Beare and Mr Brand Hoff.