25th NT Literary Awards open 


The Northern Territory Library invites all Territorians to enter this year’s Northern Territory Literary Awards.

The awards acknowledge written work of outstanding literary merit and reward the achievements of Territory writers.

The six award categories are:

• Charles Darwin University Essay Award

• Charles Darwin University Bookshop Travel Short Story Award

• Dymocks Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Writers’ Award

• Dymocks Red Earth Poetry Award

• Dymocks Arafura Short Story Award

• Kath Manzie Youth Literary Award

Director of the Northern Territory Library, Ms Jo McGill said the awards continued to cultivate a prosperous creative writing industry in the NT by recognising great talent and inspiring a new generation of writers.

“The Northern Territory Literary Awards have continued to gather momentum due to the vibrant arts community in the Northern Territory, and reflect the depth of literary talent that exists right across the Territory,” she said.

“With an overwhelming contingent of entries from remote and Central Australia last year, and among nearly half the finalists from Katherine, Tennant Creek or Alice Springs, these awards are truly representative of the whole Northern Territory.”

Entry forms are available at the NT Library, Dymocks Booksellers, CDU Bookshop and public libraries.

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony in early October.