Call for Lecturer of the Year nominations 


Nominations are open for Australia’s Lecturer of the Year competition, which encourages staff and students to show their appreciation of academic staff by nominating their favourite lecturers in 2008.

Awareness and participation of this competition is soaring, with more than 11,000 nominations placed for the 2008 competition since the start of April.

In 2007, more than 20,000 nominations were registered and 2000 lecturers were nominated for the title.

Nominations can be made only via the website by current Australian university staff and students.

To be eligible for nomination, staff must be lecturers for the year 2008. Users may only nominate a particular lecturer once, but they are also able to nominate as many different lecturers they believe are deserving of the title.

The lecturer who receives the highest number of nominations overall is granted the title of “Lecturer of the Year 2008”, and awarded the prize of a trip for two to Fiji for five nights.

Individual university winners will be recognised with certificates.

Nominations close November 30, 2008, with the overall winner and individual university winners announced on December 14, 2008.