Hundreds robe up for graduation 

Bachelor of Business Tourism Management graduate, Wan Kam Cheong celebrates her special day with grandmother Pui I Sui and mother and father Pui Lin and Man Tata Cheong

Grace Graveson (Diploma of Textiles, Clothing and Footware), with mother in-law, Shirley Graveson, and sister, Miriam Gardner

More than 500 graduands robed up to receive formal recognition of the successful completion of their studies at Charles Darwin University during last week’s mid-year graduation ceremonies at Casuarina campus.

More than 2000 students officially graduated as part of the ceremony which recognised the academic achievements of students from both the higher education and vocational education and training sectors.

Two graduation ceremonies were held in the Casuarina campus courtyard.

On Thursday evening May 22, the ceremony for the Institute of Advanced Studies, Faculty of Health Education and Science, and the Industry Divisions of Language and Literacy, and Primary Industries and Community Services. Friday night’s ceremony was for the Faculty of Law, Business and Arts, and the Business and Services Industries, and Trades Industry Divisions.

A total of 10 PhDs were awarded, along with an Emeritus Professorship.

Professor David Carment was honoured with the conferring of an Emeritus Professorship in recognition for his long-serving commitment and contribution to the University and to higher education in the Northern Territory.

CDU’s Dean of the Faculty of Law, Business and Arts, Adrian Walter was awarded a Doctor of Philosophy during the proceedings along with other PhD graduands Helen Ashwell, Natalie Rossiter-Rachor, Tomer Shemesh, Daniel Banfai, Matthew Brearley, James Smith, Bolaji Taiwo, Lucy Tran-Nguyen and Tuan Vu.

The following medals were awarded to the most outstanding students: University Medal Higher Education (HE) Mary Wignell, Bachelor of Arts; Chancellors Medal HE, Glynis Lee, Bachelor of Visual Arts (Honours); Chancellors Medal HE, Roxanne Guesnon, Grad Dip in Information Technology; VET medallists: University Medal VET, Suzanne Young, Cert IV in Library/Information Services; Chancellors Medal VET, Gavin Skinner, Cert III in Electrotechnology Systems Electrician; Chancellors Medal VET, Solomon Heard-Pitcher, Cert III in General Construction (Carpentry).

Darwin area manager of ConocoPhillips, Michael Hatfield gave the Occasional Address at Thursday evening’s ceremony while last night’s Occasional Address was given by Emeritus Professor David Carment.

High-profile Bachelor of Social Work graduate, Maria Kambouris gave the graduates’ response.

The mid-year graduation ceremony for Alice Springs students will be held on June 20 at the Alice Springs Convention Centre.

As a part of the ceremony, numerous CDU staff members were recognised with Vice-Chancellor’s Awards which were presented to staff in the following categories.

Vice-Chancellor's Awards for outstanding contributions to student learning

Vocational Education and Training category
Mr Stuart Anderson - Trades Industry Division

Mr Nicholas de Silva - Business and Services Industry Division

Dr Brian Heim - Primary Industries and Community Services Industry Division

Mrs Bronwyn Hudson - Business and Services Industry Division

Mr Bharat Desai - Business and Services Industry Division

Higher Education category
Mr Mark Thiele - School of Engineering and Information Technology

Vice-Chancellor's Awards for exceptional performance in research

Individual Researcher Award
Dr Lindsay Hutley

New Researcher Award
Dr Clive McMahon

Research Team Award Joint winners
Professor Lesley Barclay, Associate Professor Sue Kildea, Dr Sue Kruske, Dr Suzanne Belton - Graduate School of Health Practices

Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for exceptional performance by general staff

Individual staff members of level up to and including HEW 5
Ms Elizabeth Lycett - School of Education

Individual staff members of any level
Ms Diane Skewes - Callista Application Support Team

Team Award
Nursing Placement Team: Mr Roni Roberts, Ms Anne Pitman, Ms Judy Manton, Ms Wendy McLellan, Ms Pam Marlow, Ms Jasmin Smith, Mr Andrew Harper - Faculty of Education, Health and Sciences