Outback Youth Film Festival 


Charles Darwin University (CDU) students cleaned up at the recent Outback Youth Film Festival held as part of the Alice Springs Desert Festival.

CDU students won four of the six major award categories at the film festival held at the Araluen Centre for Arts and Entertainment on 1 September.

Michael Hill won the Animation Award for ‘A Day in the Grass’, Kerin Langmaid the Drama Award for ‘Instant Karma’, Nicole Moerland the Comedy Award for ‘Real Life vs PS2’, and Matthew Holdinghausen the Experimental Film Award for ‘Simple is the Wait for Forever’.

CDU students were also successful in minor and certificate awards. Lauchlan Pevie won the Story Award for ‘The Package’ and Rhys Weightman the Commercial Award for ‘ApeTV 3D’. Certificate award winner James Swiegelaar won a Cinematography Encouragement Award for ‘If It Ain't Broke’.

All films submitted by CDU students were completed in the 2005 academic year.

The Outback Youth Film Festival showcases original films and digital stories by young people living in remote and regional Australia.