CDU features in history grants 


Charles Darwin University’s (CDU) School of Creative Arts and Humanities featured prominently at the 2006 Northern Territory History Grants.

Alan Powell, Kathy De La Rue, Wendy Beresford-Manning and Matthew Stephen of the School of Creative Arts and Humanities all received substantial grants which will enable them to undertake applied research in a variety of areas.

CDU professor of history and university representative on the Northern Territory History Grants Committee, David Carment, commented on the grants and their importance.

“The success of the CDU recipients this year (and in previous years) reflects the important contributions made by CDU staff members and postgraduate students in the researching and writing of Northern Territory history,” he said.

“This work is especially vital at a time when the Prime Minister and federal minister for education are emphasising the need to promote and expand the teaching of various aspects of Australian history and history's role in developing national identity.”

Emeritus Professor Alan Powell of Darwin was recognised with a $5,000 grant to research a history of sea approaches to Darwin.

PhD student Kathy De La Rue of Palmerston received a $6,000 grant to research the development of Darwin during the Commonwealth administration, 1911-1978.

PhD student Wendy Beresford-Maning of Darwin received a $1,500 grant to research the work of missionaries of the Sacred Heart in the Top End.

PhD student Matthew Stephen of Darwin received a $2,500 grant to research a comparative study of Aboriginal involvement in cricket in colonial South Australia and the Northern Territory.

The Northern Territory History Grants (originally known as History Awards) are awarded annually and were founded many years ago to commemorate Northern Territory self-government. They provide funds for original research on topics in Northern Territory history and are administered by the Northern Territory Archives Service.