CDU staff receive recognition for teaching excellence 


Carrick Institute for Learning and Teaching in Higher Education awarded Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning to Charles Darwin University (CDU) staff to recognise teaching excellence in higher education.

The following are the list of awarded Citations:

Faculty of Education, Health and Science’s (EHS) Dr Lindsay Hutley, Dr Keith McGuinness, Dr Diana Pearson and Dr Samantha Setterfield, and Dr Penny Wurm, Tropical Savannas CRC, for an engaging, flexible postgraduate program focussing on tropical Australia, and building skills and understandings for regional professionals in authentic learning contexts.

Dr McGuinness, EHS, for teaching the whole person: learning-centred partnership in statistics.

Barbara White and Jodi Tutty, Faculty of Technology, for creating learning environments using mobile, wireless technologies that enable diverse cohorts of students to develop a critical mastery of the discipline knowledge and skills.

CDU staff receiving Citations were part of more than 200 Australia academic and professional support staff recognised for their teaching excellence. Each winner receives $10,000.

Awarded for the first time this year, the Citations are part of the Australian Government’s expanded program of national awards aimed at recognising and rewarding the diverse contributions that individuals and teams make to the quality of student learning.

In 2005, CDU won the Prime Minister’s Award for the Australian University Teacher of the Year, a Carrick Award for Australian University Teaching and the country’s highest teaching award, for its Aboriginal language project.