CDU's Katherine Indigenous centre gains traditional name 


Charles Darwin University will complete the renaming of its four Indigenous units when the centre at the Katherine campus receives a traditional name on Friday, 22 August.

The renaming ceremonies have taken place to highlight the culturally appropriate physical and intellectual study environment provided by CDU’s Indigenous Academic Support Unit (IASU) for Indigenous students.

Coordinator of the IASU, Roz Angeles said the renaming ceremonies reflected the University’s commitment to promoting Indigenous participation and relevance.

The centre at the Katherine campus has been named Yangan.garr (pronounced Yahng-ahn-gahrr).

Ms Angeles said the development and naming of the Indigenous centres was significant and the names had been allocated to help reinforce CDU’s commitment to providing a culturally safe environment where Indigenous students studying at either Higher Education or Vocational Education and Training (VET) levels received appropriate support during their learning journey.

She said that Yangan.garr, the traditional Jawoyn name for “learning place”, had been identified following CDU’s observance of appropriate cultural protocol and extensive consultation with senior Jawoyn people.

“The University undertook a consultative process with senior members of the Jawoyn Association to raise community awareness of the history of the land upon which Katherine campus is built,” Ms Angeles said.

“Through the efforts of committed staff, the IASU helps Indigenous students to adapt to the university environment and gain a better understanding of what is required of them to undertake a Higher Education or VET course.”

Ms Angeles said she expected the support offered at each centre would continue to grow.

“The opening of the Indigenous centres has encouraged our Indigenous students to draw on the services we provide and allow us to focus on expanding our support programs. In particular, Yangan.garr will provide the many regional and remote Indigenous students studying at the Katherine campus with information about the diverse range of support services delivered by the IASU and how those services can be accessed and best utilised.

The Indigenous centres at the Casuarina, Palmerston and Alice Springs campuses were renamed during similar ceremonies at the end of last year.